#FIVBBVMAS | 32 International Beach Volleyball Teams Announced

#FIVBBVMAS | 32 International Beach Volleyball Teams Announced

KUALA LUMPUR, 29 MARCH 2017 – With three weeks away from the 2017 FIVB Beach Volleyball World Tour – Malaysia Open, the Fédération Internationale de Volleyball (FIVB) has announced the 32 teams that will compete for the country’s first world tour title. Happening at Langkawi’s Pantai Cenang on Saturday and Sunday, 15 and 16 April 2017, the Federation selected ten teams from Malaysia (out of 32 teams) to compete in the country’s most prominent beach volleyball tournament.


“Top beach volleyball players from 17 countries will muster in the picturesque Pantai Cenang for a heated battle. We are delighted with the list of players announced, and we are confident that they will put their best foot forward to present the most competitive games to excite our spectators,” said Andrew Ching, Chief Executive Officer of E-Plus Global Sdn Bhd, organiser and promoter of the FIVB Beach Volleyball World Tour – Malaysia Open.


Australia, Austria, Cuba, Czech Republic, Spain, Estonia, Germany, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Romania, South Africa, Russia, Scotland, Serbia, Switzerland and the United States of America were listed in the list released by FIVB. Cuba’s Diaz Gomez Nivaldo Nadir and Sergio Reynaldo Gonzalez Bayard, and United States’ Emily Stockman and Kimberly Dicello will highlight the event as the Entry Points leaders in the men’s and women’s chart respectively. Malaysia’s national athletes Elangovan Yogeswaran and Luk Teck Hua will make their debut in the league for the first time this season.


“Beach volleyball is a relatively new sport in Malaysia. The inclusion of 10 local teams into the list is an added advantage to expose our players on the international arena. This will also be a learning curve for the industry to improve the games locally. Lastly, I would like to wish the Malaysian team the best of luck in the tournament,” said Dr. Gregory Hii, President of the Malaysian Volleyball Association.


The 2017 FIVB Beach Volleyball World Tour – Malaysia Open will be segregated into four rounds – the Round of 16, Quarterfinals, Semi-Finals and Finals. A total of USD20,000 (approximately RM89,000) in prize money will be given away. Winning team for each gender will receive a cash prize of USD2,000 (approximately RM8,900), followed by USD1,500 (approximately RM6,700) for the first runner-up, USD1,200 (approximately RM5,300) for the second runner-up, USD900 (approximately RM4,000) for the third runner-up, USD500 (approximately RM2,300) per team from the fifth to eighth place, and USD300 (RM1,400) per team from the ninth to sixteenth place.


“We are blessed with beautiful beaches around Malaysia. Spearheading an international beach volleyball tournament in ASEAN will further promote our scenic shores to the world and attract tourists to Malaysia. The 2017 FIVB Beach Volleyball World Tour – Malaysia Open will be our latest approach in drawing and boosting the nation’s tourism economy,” said Tony Nagamaiah, General Manager of Malaysia Major Events, a division of Malaysia Convention & Exhibition Bureau, an agency under the Ministry of Tourism and Culture Malaysia.


Malaysia will host the World Tour 1-Star (WT1) tournament following the season opener in Shepparton, Australia. After Langkawi, the season will proceed to Pacific Harbour in Fiji, Agadir in Morocco, Daegu and Ulsan in South Korea for the 2017 season.


Daily and two-day passes can be purchased at www.airasiaredtix.com.


For more information, follow us on our Facebook at FIVB Beach Volleyball World Tour – Malaysia Open or Instagram at @fivbbeachvolleyball.malaysia.


The 2017 FIVB Beach Volleyball World Tour – Malaysia Open is promoted and organised by E-Plus Global Sdn Bhd, sanctioned by the Fédération Internationale de Volleyball and Malaysia Volleyball Association; and supported by Malaysia Major Events, a division of Malaysia Convention & Exhibition Bureau (an agency under the Ministry of Tourism and Culture Malaysia), Ministry of Youth and Sports Malaysia, Langkawi Development Authority (LADA), Majlis Bandaraya Pelancongan Langkawi, Majlis Daerah Langkawi, Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa and Aseania Langkawi Resort & Spa, Coca-Cola and Uber.


Men’s Team – Main Draw

Pos Country Team Name Player 1 Player 2
1 CUB Nivaldo/Gonzalez Diaz Gomez Nivaldo Nadir Sergio Reynaldo Gonzalez Bayard
2 AUT Ermacora/Pristauz-Telsnigg Martin Ermacora Moritz Bernd Pristauz-Telsnigg
3 GER Poniewaz B./Poniewaz D. Bennet Poniewaz David Poniewaz
4 EST Tiisaar/Nõlvak Mart Tiisaar Kusti Nõlvak
5 AUT Schnetzer/Eglseer Florian Schnetzer Peter Eglseer
6 SRB Kolaric/Klasnic Lazar Kolaric Djordje Klasnic
7 ESP Mesa/García Raul Mesa Christian García
8 CZE Dumek/Lenc Jan Dumek David Lenc
9 USA McKienzie/Dentler (WC) David McKienzie Andrew Dentler
10 MAS Yogeswaran/Mat Sidek Elangovan Yogeswaran Mohamad Ammirol Mat Sidek
11 MAS Abd Razak/Rafl Mohd Faiz Putra Abd Razak Rafi Asruki Nordin
12 MAS Ahmad Shafwan/Idris Ahmad Shafwan bin Ahmad Zulkifli Idris Muhamad Afiq Solihin
13 MAS Amir Farid/Mahadi Khalili Amir Farid Mohd Razif Mahadi
14 MAS Lee/Tay Boon Kiat Lee Chien Bin Tay
15 MAS Yaw Cheong/Wei Shen Fong Yaw Cheong Ang Wei Shen
16 RSA Stemmet/Williams Clinton Stemmet Leo Williams


Women’s Team – Main Draw

Pos Country Team Name Player 1 Player 2
1 USA Stockman/Dicello Emily Stockman Kimberly Dicello
2 AUT Strauss N./Strauss T. Nadine Strauss Teresa Strauss
3 AUS Artacho Del Solar/Kendall Mariafe Artacho Brittany Kendall
4 AUT Rimser/Plesiutschnig Cornelia Rimser Lena Plesiutschnig
5 ROU Matei/Vaida Adriana-Maria Matei Beata Vaida
6 SUI Eiholzer/Gerson Nicole Eiholzer Dunja Gerson
7 RUS Abalakina/Dabizha Yulia Abalakina Ksenia Dabizha
8 GER Schillerwein/Tillmann Katarina Schillerwein Cinja Tillmann
9 JPN Miyagawa/Murakami Samaa Miyagawa Megumi Murakami
10 SCO Beattie/Coutts Lynne Beattie Melisa Coutts
11 CZE Bonnerova/Nakladalova Martina Bonnerova Sarka Nakladalova
12 INA Martha/Nur (WC) Martha Cisilia Rahawarin Nur Sari
13 MAS Teck Hua/Elaine L Luk Teck Hua Lee Geok Ting Elaine
14 MAS Chou Hwa/Aishuria Chou Hwa Chia Thevar Aishuria
15 MAS Yew S.T/Dawn Lynn Sook Ting Yew Dawn Lynn
16 MAS Polly Sim/Shu Woon Polly Sim Pei Yi Shu Woon Joo